A GUIDE TO THE PICTURESQUE VILLAGE ON THE SOLWAY COAST
Maryport was built on a grid system and has an industrial history of coal and iron mining and ship building. There was once also a tannery and a cotton mill. In Roman times Maryport's harbour was used to supply the Roman fort on the 200ft high cliffs at the north east end of the town, which was the main head quarters for the Roman's coastal defence system. Today Maryport remains a busy litte town and has much to offer visitors.
Maryport around 1720 was a small hamlet of fishing huts and a farmhouse. The hamlet was then known as Ellenfoot due to its position relative to the river Ellen and was part of the estate of Nether Hall which belonged to the Senhouse family. In 1756 Humphrey Senhouse changed the name, by an Act of Parliament, to Maryport in honour of his wife Mary.
This page provides information from external sources and links to organisations which are not in any way under our control. We are not responsible for their content.